"…The Move, their music, both in performance and on this album, is both powerful and intricately structured and flowing. Shazam is a brutally energetic rock and roll album." John Mendelssohn, Rolling Stone magazine

By 1970, with a change in personal that saw Carl Wayne leave and Jeff Lynne join as guitarist, vocalist and co-songwriter / producer, The Move were riding high in the charts with a fearsome 45, 'Brontosaurus' (see 'Looking On'). But their equally rousing album, 'Shazam', released just one week earlier and critically acclaimed as The Move's "masterpiece", somehow got lost in the mix…

Superbly remastered from the original analogue master tapes by Rob Keyloch and Nick Robbins and restoring music omitted from previous CD editions, 'Shazam' has been expanded to over 68 minutes with 8 BONUS TRACKS including previously unreleased versions of 'Omnibus', 'Wild Tiger Women' and 'Curly', original demos plus an alternate mix of the band's only UK No.1 single, 'Blackberry Way'.

The restored original artwork (including spot vanish effects) and deluxe digipack are by Grammy Award-winning art director Rachel Gutek while the 16-page colour booklet contains rare and previously unseen photos from the band members own archives (including The Move recording in Advision Studios), memorabilia, track information, full credits and recording details plus in-depth liner notes and interviews by Mojo's Mark Paytress.

Via the menu items at the top of this page, you will find tracklisting and session information, sleeve notes, audio previews, complete lyrics and more!

For further information, please see the in-depth pages on The Move's official website:

Every album ordered from the SHOP will come with an EXCLUSIVE Move Collectors Edition Postcard - while stocks last!

PHOTO CREDITS (from top):

THE MOVE 1969 photo © The Move



All material copyright Face The Music & not for reproduction elsewhere without permission. Website designed by Ken Greenwell.